2013 XXXX People’s Choice Award

Fans will determine the winner of a unique addition to this year’s end-of-season presentations following the Queensland Rugby League’s launch of the XXXX People’s Choice Award today.

It will complement the long-standing Courier-Mail Medal, with both awards to be presented at the QRL’s Gala Dinner at Brisbane City Hall on Wednesday, September 4.

The 12 Intrust Super Cup clubs have nominated a player and now it is over to the fans to cast their vote.

Voting opens today and will close at midnight on Sunday, September 1. http://www.qrl.com.au/default.aspx?s=xxxx-poty

Over the next three Sundays, Channel 9’s Intrust Super Cup coverage will feature four of the candidates.

In a further incentive for supporters to have their say, a random draw will take place with one lucky fan to receive two tickets to the Gala Dinner.

The 12 nominees for the inaugural 2013 XXXX People’s Choice Award are:

Hezron Murgha (Northern Pride)

Petero Civoniceva (Redcliffe Dolphins)

Martin Cordwell (Sunshine Coast Sea Eagles)

Nathaniel Neale (Ipswich Jets)

Mat Pitman (Souths Logan Magpies)

Matty Smith (Norths Devils)

Cody Walker (Easts Tigers)

Tyron Haynes (Burleigh Bears)

Liam Taylor (Mackay Cutters)

Jake Granville (Wynnum Manly Seagulls)

Tom Kingston (Tweed Heads Seagulls)

Brent Crisp (CQ Capras)

Six of the nominated players – Hezron Murgha, Nathaniel Neale, Mat Pitman, Cody Walker, Tyron Haynes and Jake Granville – represented the XXXX Queensland Residents in Sydney this year.

Former Queensland and Australian Test prop Petero Civoniceva, along with Martin Cordwell, Matty Smith, Liam Taylor, Tom Kingston and Brent Crisp, have all been outstanding contributors for their respective clubs.

“In conjunction with XXXX it is exciting for us to be adding an award of this nature to our Gala Dinner format,” QRL competitions manager Jamie O’Connor said today.

“This will allow us to further engage with our Intrust Super Cup fans and given the response to last year’s live stream, we expect supporters to embrace this concept as well.”

For the first time, the general public can purchase tickets to the dinner through the QRL on (07) 3367 6000.